The Jr Viking Carpool

I’m in the middle of writing a blog that is turning out to be a rather long-winded epistle. This isn’t it. This is the “good grief, I haven’t written on my blog for a month” post. But it should be a good one because it involves the boys’ football carpool.

If you were one of those who used to read me on my old blog, you may remember that I mentioned the Jr. Viking football carpool here and there. This year’s carpool is the same plus two. Five families in all, all 5th & 6th grade boys. Carpooling with boys is, frankly, so much more entertaining and light hearted than carpooling with girls. No drama, no high pitched shrieky laughter, no backstabbing . . .

I think last year I highlighted our adventures with the radio (classic rock) and the saga of Bacon Man. Last week, one of our topics turned into God’s burrito (“put some ambrosia on it and He’s good to go!”), which led to a great name for a restaurant Ambrosia Burritos, Ambrosia Mexican and/or Ambrosia Gyros (don’t bother–I’ve already ®’d them). “If God could eat any food in the world, I think he’d eat a burrito.” “But would God know how to make one?” “Of course, he’s GOD” . . . which led to the ambrosia statement.

Tonight’s topic coming home: car sickness, vomit & marshmellows in the back seat [I said light-hearted. I didn’t claim it wasn’t gross]. The concept of bent light and reality in the front (between me & Mr. Pete).  But the best statement tonight came after we’d dropped off the last football player. Pete, Sam and I were rounding the corner for home. As Pete put it: “We turn on . . . Tripp” as he makes a tripping gestures. For 13 years, we’ve lived in this neighborhood. I’ve never connected Tripp Street to tripping. I don’t know if I’ll ever not think of tripping again.

So, that’s the update from the land of little Vikings. Tomorrow morning, Kate becomes a full-fledged Viking as she starts official cross country practice as a high school freshman! I doubt those girls talk about Bacon Man. And I know there won’t be a carpool. The daughter wants a public bus pass (it’s not cool to take the free school bus).

 

About CarolineChicago

I am a freelance marketing strategist and content/copy writer living in the Chicago area. I enjoy writing on several different topics of personal interest, especially food and cooking.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

